You can tell Facebook in advance whether you’d like to have your account memorialized or permanently deleted from Facebook when you are gone.
In this post we will tell you about memorialized accounts and how to delete your Facebook account when you passed on
Memorialized accounts are a place for friends and family to gather and share memories after a person has passed away. Memorialized accounts have the
following key features:
- The word Remembering will be shown next to the person’s name on their profile
- Depending on the privacy settings of the account, friends can share memories on the memorialized Timeline.
- Memorialized accounts that don’t have a legacy contact can’t be changed
- Content the person shared (example: photos, posts) stays on Facebook and is visible to the audience it was shared with.
- No one can log into a memorialized account
- Memorialized profiles don’t appear in public spaces such as in suggestions for People You May Know, ads or birthday reminders
- Pages with a sole admin whose account was memorialized will be removed from Facebook if we receive a valid request
Deleting Your Account
You can choose to have your account permanently deleted should you pass away. To do this:
- From the top right of Facebook, click and select Settings
- From the left menu, click Security
- Click Legacy Contact
- Click Request account deletion and follow the on-screen instructions
For Friends and Family
If you’d like to create an additional place for people on Facebook to share memories of your loved one, we suggest creating a group.